Eat. Sleep. Speak. Repeat.

Upon reading the title, many people will think about their everyday lives.  Well, yes, that can be applied to a regular day but I tend to think about my Public Speaking and Debate club (haha yes I’m a bit of a nerd).  

Now, according to many articles, most of the population in this country fears speaking in public more than death.  I can see why.  You have to get up in front of a crowd and be the only single person talking.  The pressure is on not to mess up, stutter, or get stage fright.  Yet, in spite of all this, I love it anyway.


The club I am with is a part of the NCFCA (National Christian Forensics and Communication Association).  We spend the first part of the school year preparing our speeches and debate arguements.  Speeches can be anything as long as they fit into the various categories (example: informative, persuasive, impromptu).  I did not do debate this past year but I am adding it on next year.

After Christmas passes, tournament season begins.  Maybe you are wondering: why would there be a tournament for public speaking?  Well the NCFCA hosts tournaments so its members can show all of the work they have put into their speeches and provides a competitive environment.  I went to two tournaments this past year and they were so much fun!  I met so many different people and did something I am passionate about; and that is public speaking. 

I love NCFCA and I have become a stronger speaker and come out of my shell this year because of it.  It definitely is not for everyone, but I feel like it is the right fit for me and I hope to do it as long as I possibly can.

“In the same way, let your light shine before others that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

-Matthew 5:16

6 thoughts on “Eat. Sleep. Speak. Repeat.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

