Picture Perfect 

“Imagine if you prayed as much as you got on Instagram.” (Anonymous) 

We live in a world that is consumed with Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter, Instagram etc. We live in a society that cares more about likes and themes than what really goes on in people’s lives.  
I’d like to go back to the quote above.  My New Testament teacher used this quote in her lectures a few times.  It really puts it in perspective how much we are involved with social media (sometimes without even meaning to!). 

Yes, I do have an Instagram.  Yes, I do struggle with trying to place its worth on how many “likes” my photos get.  Heck, I even advertise for this blog on my Insta.  Social media can be a great and wonderful thing for people, the problems start when people obsess and put all of their self esteem into how many followers they have. 


(Source: La nuit blanche) 

Taking artsy pictures and selfies is fun to do and post.  I do it as well as many others.  Going back to my original statement, it’s fine to take pictures, as long as you don’t let social media control your life. 

I’m going to end with one more quote that I think goes with and explains this post.

“It doesn’t matter how many “followers” you have.  Hitler had millions.  Jesus had 12.”

-Anonymous 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

